VTP modes explained

Each Cisco switch can operate in one of the three VTP modes:

  • VTP server mode – the default mode for Cisco switches. A switch operating in this mode can create, modify, and delete VLANs. You can also specify other VTP configuration parameters on a VTP server, such as VTP version and VTP pruning, for the entire VTP domain. A VTP server switch will propagate VLAN changes. To configure a switch as a VTP server, use the vtp mode server global configuration command.
  • VTP client mode – a switch operating in this mode can’t change its VLAN configuration. You cannot create, change, or delete VLANs on a VTP client. Received VTP updates will be processed and forwarded. To configure a switch as a VTP server, use the vtp mode client global configuration command.
  • VTP transparent mode – a switch opering in this mode doesn’t participate in VTP. A VTP transparent switch does not advertise its VLAN configuration and does not synchronize its VLAN configuration based on received advertisements, but it does forward received VTP advertisements. You can create and delete VLANs on a VTP transparent switch, but the changes will not be sent to other switches. To configure a switch to use the VTP transparent mode, use the vtp mode transparent global configuration command.

 

You can’t completely disable VTP on Cisco switches; the best you can do to disable VTP is to place your switch in the VTP transparent mode.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Like us on Facebook

top
Geek University 2019